Life list

June 15, 2010 at 10:22 am (Random, Travel, Uncategorized)

I know this is commonly referred to as a “bucket list” but I find the term a bit macabre, so I’m just going to say that  these are things that I want to do.

I have been fortunate enough that I have been able to do some things that were on my list so I’ll start with just a few of those.

Denali (Mt. McKinley) – the highest peak in N. America.  I did not actually climb, however we took a teeny 4 person airplane and landed on a glacier high in the mountain range, a terrifying but amazing experience.

Stonehenge – it was a little disappointing.  I’m glad I saw it, but I was a little let down.

Mt. Kilauea – went to Hawaii and saw the volcano erupting.  Had to hike at night in the pitch black with only a flashlight illuminating the path laid out by reflective tape across the now hardened lava to the viewing area.  It was amazing to see the glowing reds and oranges  from the lava flowing out to meet the ocean.

Now, the list of things to do:

Attend the Olympics – Preferably summer, though it would be great to go to both.

Major sporting events: attend the 4 Grand Slams (US Open, French Open, Australian Open, Wimbledon), World Cup,  Super Bowl

Machu Picchu – I would love to go there and see it

Mt. Everest – much like McKinley, I have no interest in actually climbing it, just seeing it.

Pyramids in Egypt

Great Wall of China

Antarctic –  I want to take a cruise, there are some that leave from Argentina that take you to see the glaciers and the penguins in Antarctica.

U2 in Ireland – I think this is like Mecca for u2 fans and I am one, so I do plan on making this happen!!

Skydive

See a space shuttle launch.  *quick side story: When I was in elementary school, I went with my parents on a family vacation and our intention was to see a launch.  Well the weather was bad, so the launch was delayed, we extended our trip by a day to see the launch.  Well, it was delayed again and my parents had to get back to work and I had school, so we were not able to stay.  The next day the shuttle launched – and then exploded mid-air.  It was the Challenger.  We have photos of it sitting on the launch pad the day before it ended in tragedy.

Go to Germany during Oktoberfest

This list is not set in stone and I’m sure there are things that I will add to it or that I’m forgetting.

So – what are some of YOUR things?  I’m curious to see what is on other people’s lists of things to do!!

3 Comments

  1. Jennifer @ three pugs & a baby said,

    You and MacGyver – you can totally hit up the shuttle launch. He’s constantly planning trips down there and the launches get scrubbed. 🙂

    Great list.

  2. Lynn said,

    We have a lot of the same on the list! Been skydiving, it’s amazing. I will totally go with you. And pretty much every where else you want to go I will go too! Chris and I have been talking about an Antarctic Cruise for years. The excursion to see the penguins and actually walk on the glaciers is expensive, so there aren’t a lot of people willing to jump on that ship with us! My thought is, if you travel all that way, its worth the money to get off the ship instead of just sail by!

  3. Karen said,

    I have seen a shuttle launch and been to the Pyramids and they are both as absolutely incredible as they sound. If you want to see a shuttle launch, there are only 2 left, so you don’t have many more chances. We will be trying to attend both of the next launches. We want our son to be able to say that he was there to see one of the final shuttle launches EVER (even if he will be too little to remember it). Find out more here: http://www.nasa.gov/missions/highlights/schedule.html

Leave a Reply

