Daycares, nannies, SAHMs, Oh MY!!

February 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm (Uncategorized)

I had a hard time coming up with a title for this post.  I’m a little irked and needed to get this off my chest.

I feel, and have felt for a while now, judged.  Why? Because of my decision to stay home with my daughter.  I know a lot of people think it’s great that I get to stay home and raise my daughter on a daily basis.  Well, that’s how I feel about it.  But, there are some mommies who feel as though unless your child is in daycare they are missing out.  Like my child is not learning as much or socializing as much because she is home with me.  I haven’t said anything because I didn’t want to bring it up, but it bothers me.

My feeling is that everyone does what is best for them.  I think daycare is a great option for families where both parents either have to or choose to work.  I think its great.  I also think that if parents choose to have a nanny watch their child, that too is wonderful if everyone is happy.  But I also think that my decision to stay home is great.  It works for us.  I love doing it.  I know it’s not for everyone.  I know its hard and exhausting, but I love it.  I have LOVED being home with my daughter every day of her 2 years.  I have loved seeing all her milestones, knowing her better than anyone else does.  I love being the one to set her schedule, know what she eats and when, and teaching her things.  At 2, she is right on track.  She counts to 10, knows colors, shapes, letters, plays pretend, she can do any puzzle you put in front of her (age appropriate, of course), etc.  Oh, and yes, she plays independently very well.  I loved when she was a brand new baby, giving her the one on one attention that i thought she needed.  I make sure to take her out every day.  We go to classes twice a week and to playdates or the park more often that that.  Even a trip to Target can be educational.   We do crafts, play with play-doh, color, paint, and play a lot!

So, I do resent the implication that because my daughter has not been in daycare she has not “learned” as much.  That is simply not true.  This is my choice and it has worked for us.  If I was in a position where I had to work outside the home then of course I would have to find alternate arrangements.  I am now ready for her to be in school.  I have a found a wonderful place to put her that is a school environment.  She will start this summer 2 half days a week.  I know it will be good for her, and I know that she will not be behind other kids who have been taken care of outside the home.

1 Comment

  1. Jennifer @ And Baby Makes 6 said,

    The problem with people is that they are always, always, always going to judge.

    It would be really nice if we could all be supportive of each other and our respective decisions. Of course, where would the fun be in that?

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your time with your beautiful daughter. At the end of the day, that’s what’s most important. 🙂

Leave a Reply

