The diplomacy of kiddie parties

February 3, 2010 at 10:00 pm (Family, Friends, Toddler) ()

Alexis’ 2nd birthday is coming up, along with that comes the Birthday Party.   Last year was easy b/c I wanted to make it low key, no need to have a huge party for me, b/c she would not enjoy it.  This year is a different story.  I’m doing a bigger party, more friends, more theme-y, etc.  I’m pretty excited about everything.

Except the guest list.

The first wave was easy, my friends.  The ones I really like, whose company I enjoy.  Most have kids, but some don’t.  Those were a no-brainer.  Then there are the others.  The ones I feel I have to invite for a variety of reasons.  1. I was invited to their kids party so I feel it’s only right to return the invitation.  2. They are friends of friends I am inviting and it would be odd to invite a group of friends minus one.  It would be awkward and I don’t like to make people feel left out.   3. The ones I’m friends with out of obligation, you know the ones.  I’ve been friends with them for a long time, or the person I see often enough at social occasions but don’t really like and yet need to invite anyway.

I’m fortunate in that 95% of the people I’m inviting and genuinely people I want to invite, but then there are those few who I know I have to, so I will suck it up and do it.

3 Comments

  1. Jackie said,

    That happens for any type of party! I’m sure it happened at your wedding too, you just don’t recall… I know for sure it happened at mine.
    GL with the party! Can’t wait to see photos of Miss A.

  2. Jennifer @ And Baby Makes 6 said,

    I am putting together Turtle’s guest list now. One day? It will be easier!

  3. Melanie said,

    This always happens no matter what type of party. Whenever I complain about it my husband says, “Who cares – the more the merrier!” And he is right. It always works out in the end. And in the end…what is 5% when you are thrilled with the 95%. They won’t take away from the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

