May 13, 2006

May 13, 2009 at 9:33 am (Uncategorized)

M&L

3 years.  Wow.  I know in the large picture 3 years is nothing, but to me it sounds like a long time.  It feels like we just got married.  I still see us as newly married.  Not that we act like newlyweds anymore, just that we have only been married for a little while.  So when I think 3 YEARS I can’t believe it’s true.

Since Marc is out of town we cheated and celebrated early.  We spent the night Saturday at the Viceroy on Brickell and went out to dinner.  And what did the parents of a toddler do on the night alone – came back to the hotel by 10:30pm right after dinner and enjoyed a very nice night of uninterrupted sleep!!!!! ::::yawn:::: I know quite different from our younger days, but hey priorities change!!

We have had (and still have) our share of growing pains.  Since this is the only time I’ve been married I can only assume this is normal.  I keep hoping it will get easier one of these days, but the stressors of like keep popping up so there’s always one more thing!  Looking at that picture of us on our wedding night 3 years ago I didn’t know what waited ahead for me.  I didn’t know that I would have a wonderful daughter or be a stay at home mom.  I didn’t know that I would be living with my parents while house hunting.  I didn’t know how difficult it was to sustain a marriage and how much work it took on a daily basis.  The compromise, the biting of the tongue.  It’s a constant learning curve, learning about me, about Marc, about “us”.  Because that’s the biggest part of marriage isn’t it?  Becoming “us”.  Sure I’m still me.  But not in the same way.  I can no longer think long term just about me, it will always be “us” even though “us” is now 3, not 2.

I don’t know what lies ahead.  I could not even guess at what our life will be like next year, much less 3 years from now!! All I know is that I’m up for the challenge.  I’m looking forward to what the next step is, the next surprise and what will be around the next corner.  I do know that I like the security that comes with being married.  I love knowing that I have a partner who is always there for me.  Yes, it’s been hard, maybe harder for us than it should be.  We definitely have strong personalities who clash on a regular basis.  But if I could tell that girl in the wedding dress what it’s been like over the last 3 years would I tell her to run for the hills or walk down the aisle?  I would tell her to walk down the aisle b/c it’s all worth it.   So I am committed to building a life together as a family.  I still love my husband – more so and in a very different way now than I did then!

Happy Anniversay Honey!!!!!  Thanks for a rollercoaster of a ride so far!! We’re still going up the hill and waiting for the crest so we can start coasting the rest of the way!!

2 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    Happy 3rd Anniversary Leanna!!

  2. Melanie said,

    Happy Anni!!! I can’t believe it’s been 3 years for us too. It’s difficult to have a small child and a traveling husband, if we can get through this part, we can get through anyway! Oh, and for the record, when Seth and I went on vacation a few months ago, we were in bed by 10 every night, at the latest!!! Nothing like a good night’s sleep without your personal alarm clock to wake you up in the morning 😉

Leave a Reply

