Happy Mother’s Day!

May 11, 2009 at 10:18 am (Baby, Family, Parenting) (, , , )

Mother's Day 2008

Mother's Day 2008

Mother's Day 2009

Mother's Day 2009

What a difference a year makes!!! Last year Alexis was just over 2 months old on Mother’s Day.  She was still a little blob who didn’t do a whole lot.  This year however a whole different story.  She is a person.   A walking (somewhat) talking person!  I think in the year between my first and second Mother’s Day I have gained a different understanding of motherhood and what it really is.  It’s no longer only being caretaker – feeding, changing, bathing, etc.  It’s still those things but so much more.  Now that Alexis says Mama and looks for me and comes over to me.   I’m not just the person who takes care of basic needs, I’m Mama.

There is also the aspect of being a daughter and granddaughter who is now also a mother.  Instead of only celebrating my mom and grandmother, they are now celebrating me!!

Mother’s Day has always been special to me but now it has new meaning.

So to all the wonderful mommies, mommies to be, mommies in spirit, and anyone else – Happy Mother’s Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

