Let them eat cake!!

April 28, 2009 at 2:47 pm (Baby, Cooking, Eating Out, Family, Opinion, Parenting) (, , , )

Disclaimer: this is only my opinion – no offense to any mommies out there.

I was just reading one of the message boards I frequent filled with moms of Toddlers from 12-24 months and a mom posted a “dilemma” her word, not mine, because she didn’t know what to give her daughter for her birthday cake.  Come on! Give her cake.  I am all about being health conscious and teaching Alexis to eat healthy.  I buy organic when I can and make sure that she eats fruits and vegetables every day.   It has paid off because she is a great eater.  She loves broccoli, asparagus, corn, tomatoes, etc.  Not to mention all variety of fruits.  She has fish once a week and all the other meats.

However, I do allow her to have “junk food” also.  When we go out to eat I will give her french fries – not an entire order but a few.  I control what she eats not her.  So as long as she is eating whatever food I got her then she can have a few french fries.  She likes them.  She has also had cookies, chocolate, cake, and (gasp!) cake batter!  I believe in moderation and I know how happy chocolate makes me so why not allow my daughter to indulge a bit.  Again, as long as it is in moderation and as long as she eats the healthy food as well.  I think it’s important to have variety and that includes the bad stuff!  There are a few things that I will not allow – soda is one of them.  I do not think there is anything even slightly good about drinking soda so I will keep her away from that as long as possible.

I know there is an obesity epidemic and kids are heavier than ever which is why I do believe in moderation.  When I take her to fast food places, I opt for the healthy options for her – the apple fries, milk, I take half the bread off the cheeseburger and make sure she has tomoato on the burger.   When she’s old enough, I will enroll her in sports to make sure that she is not a sedentary child.

Anyway, I say, Let them eat cake!!!!! They are kids after all 🙂

2 Comments

  1. mellymelb said,

    Where do they have apple fries?! 🙂 I am so there! If its fried it must be good.

    I am with you, Leanna. I watch Sophia’s intake and make sure she gets balanced meals. Some days she gets cantaloupe for dessert, some days bananas, and yesterday she had her first oatmeal raisin cookie. Its all about the moderation.

  2. Melanie said,

    I hear ya, Leanna! Having a “fat” baby, I keep her away from junk food, but on her birthday I let her have her cake and however many chips and cookies she wanted 🙂 I let her have tastes of some “bad” things I am having, but as long as I make sure her meals are balanced in nutrition, I don’t see how a taste of something can hurt!

Leave a Reply

