First trip to Disney World

December 11, 2008 at 3:07 pm (Cooking, Home Improvement, Movies, Random, Sleep, Uncategorized)

family-pic

For Alexis, not me.   Marc and I go every year to Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas.  We went the first year that we were together and have been going every year since.  We buy an ornament each year and have it personalized with our names and the year and its become a holiday tradition.  This year we bought 2 ornaments – one for Alexis that it Baby’s First Christmas and the one for us now says “Adlers” instead of just our first names since there is one more of us! It was cold this year, actually it’s usually cold.  It’s a nice change.

The trip itself was fun.  We arrived at the park at 4 when we’re allowed in.  Alexis first had a bottle then promptly fell asleep.  We went on some rides.  When she woke up we took her on Its A Small World and she was fascinated.  She was looking all around, squealing with delight.  It was so much fun to see her having so much fun.  Next we went on Winnie the Pooh and it was the same thing she loved it!! We then went to Toon Town which is geared towards younger kids and she had a blast in Minnie’s house and meeting Minnie.   Next was dinner at one of the fast food places in Disney.   She didn’t do too well with the dry burger that we had and my mom suggested taking her to the baby care place and seeing if we could get something for her there.  I didn’t know such a thing existed but she remembered taking me there when I was little.  Well this was an amazing place!!!  There were changing tables and high chairs and little people tables and chairs.  THere was also a store that sold baby food, formula, diapers, etc anything you cold possibly need!! It was great.  We got her a jar of baby food and even though she doesn’t usually eat the purees anymore, she scarfed it down, she must have been hungry!! My mom and my aunt hung out with her there while Marc and I walked around.  Then Marc and my aunt went on Thunder Mountain.  Next we staked out a spot for the fireworks show.  This fireworks show is one of the main reasons I love going so much, it’s amazing.  I have never seen anything like it.  It’s indescribeable.  There are fireworks all around you at some points – 360 degrees.  It’ s coreographed.  There are images flashed on the castle.  Alexis was spellbound.  I kept expecting her to jump or be afraid of the loud boom of the fireworks, but no, she was just amazed at all the colors and lights in the sky.   Next, I said I would stay with Alexis and the rest of them went on Pirates of the Caribbean.  I got a hot chocolate and sugar cookie (they are complementary and handed out at several spots throughout the park).  Alexis fell asleep in her stroller and I waited in the store for the ride to end.  I was noticing that it was taking a while when I got a call from my mom that the ride was broken and they were stuck.  I went to ask an attendant who confirmed that indeed it was broken.  Eventually it was working again and they got off the ride.  We then went on Thunder Mountain and watched the parade.  One final ride – the Haunted Mansion and then the park was closing and we went shopping. We ended up staying until almost 1am in the park before getting the shuttle back to our hotel.

The next day we got up had breakfast at IHOP and went to Downtown Disney where we did some shopping.  Alexis met Santa, went on a merry go round and the that was it.  We headed home.  It was exhausting b/c it was such a quick turnaround but we had a good time overall!!!!

4 Comments

  1. Lynn said,

    Sounds like so much fun! Can’t wait to take my little one! When she gets older, check out the Christmas Around The World at Epcot. Santas from all the different countries tell stories. It is really cool!

  2. Mimi said,

    Sounds like fun!! I can’t wait to take Baby J. So over all how was it taking a baby to a park? From a scale of 1 to 10; ten being TOO EXHAUSTING to do it again with #2?

    • Leanna said,

      Overall it was a lot of fun! I would say this is a good age because Alexis still sleeps in her stroller so she didn’t get too overstimulated. I think next year may be more difficult because she will get tired and need to sleep but won’t be able to sleep so easily in a stroller. It was also great having my mom and my aunt there to help!

  3. Mimi said,

    Another question, where is the baby care center at?

Leave a Reply

