Baby food and my weight

August 8, 2008 at 9:29 am (Baby, Cooking, Parenting, Weight Loss) (, )

Two separate subjects, both with the underlying theme of food.

First, I’ve been giving Alexis baby food.  I started out with fruits.  Bananas then Applesauce.  She tolerated them but didn’t like them, she would shiver a few times and make faces.  I gave them each for 4 days and she really didn’t get much better.  I had a feeling they were too sweet for her.  I switched to the veggies – sweet potatoes and carrots.  She loved them! Both of them!! She would open up her mouth big and wait for more.  They were a huge success.  I figured I would switch to sweet peas so she could get a different color – they were gross! They smell like puke, I couldn’t smell them, I had to have the bowl next to me.  Ick!  She didn’t like them at all.  She made awful faces and shivered and shook and spit it out.  I couldn’t blame her, the stuff was disgusting.  After about 3 spoonfuls, I decided I would not torture my daughter like that and I switched to pears.  Those were a hit.  She loved the pears!! I may try and make my own peas and see how she likes those.  I can’t wait to get through all the stage 1 flavors so that I can then experiment with making my own baby food! I’m excited about that!!  Next, I think will be peaches then green beans and we’re done!

Now, me.  I hit a major milestone -20 pounds!!! Yay!!!! I am definitely not losing as quickly as I was at first, but I’m also not being as strict with the diet as I was.  I am still going down so I’m thrilled.  But I still have 10 pounds to go.

1 Comment

  1. kimmiebr80 said,

    congratulations on 20lbs!!!! Awesome accomplishment and you should be proud of yourself.
    How funny that Alexis doesn’t like the sweeter fruits 🙂 My girls loved fruits but weren’t too thrilled with the veggies. Now they love veggies. Just a warning about making your own peas. You have to cook them down a lot! The casing on the pea really doesn’t come off easily- or maybe use a food mill and it will get caught in the mesh. Otherwise, I’d just wait until she can eat a cooked pea not mashed up- easier and less messy…

Leave a Reply

