Trip Planning

July 25, 2008 at 8:19 am (Travel) (, )

I love traveling! I’ve been to a lot of places – all through the US, many countries in Europe (some more than once), Canada, Mexico, and the Caribbean.  One of my favorite things about traveling is getting ready for the trip.  I love doing the research, the planning.  I go to the travel sites and see what they recommend, I read the books, etc.  Usually before I leave I have an itinerary prepared with activities broken out by location and separated by day.  I’m very organized so that we don’t waste time on the trip every morning saying, “what do we do today?”

With that said, I’m having a very hard time coming up with an itinerary in Hawaii!! I really just can’t seem to weed through the must-do and the could-do things.  I don’t do the beachy vacations very often, usually I do  the more adventurous lots to do places.  My last trip was two and a half weeks in Alaska – lots to do and easy to figure out the highlights.  Hawaii – not so much.  We’re going to the Big Island and to Oahu.  The only thing I HAVE to do is go to Volcanoes National Park.  I have a fascination with volcanoes and to be able to see an active one I think will be amazing.  Other than that, it seems like one beach after another.  Except Pearl Harbor, which we will visit as well.  I’m trying to figure out where we have to go and shouldn’t miss, but the travel guides aren’t very clear cut on this.  So I guess I will need to keep looking and hope that i can sift through to find a list of places we need to visit and sights we need to see.

Advice appreciated…

2 Comments

  1. mellymelb said,

    I have never been buuuuut I would think Hawaii is one of those places that the stuff to do on the beaten path is not even half as fun as what the locals will be able to tell you. Try not to plan ahead too much before you get there and find out where the fun really is!

  2. Melanie said,

    I have some travel books i can lend you for the Big Island. we went for our honeymoon!

Leave a Reply

