New cooking adventure

July 3, 2008 at 3:32 pm (Cooking) (, )

Last night I strayed from the Jenny Craig cuisine and decided to try an ambitious venture – a roast chicken and risotto.  Neither of which I had ever made before, but I figured why not try! The chicken was yummy – I rubbed the outside with butter, salt, pepper, oregano, and lemon juice.  On the inside, same but I added half a lemon and some garlic cloves and thyme.  Then in the oven it went.  Thanks to my trusty probe thermometer I didn’t have to guess at the doneness and it took about an hour and 15 minutes.  Moist and yummy.

The risotto, not so much.  It tasted good, but the consistency was all wrong.  It’s supposed to be creamy but it was sticky more like rice than risotto.  I would appreciate some recipes and tips from anyone who knows how to make risotto so I can try it again and perfect it!!

Also, I tried 2 different chocolate cupcake recipes to find one that I really like and that works to use for a friend’s baby shower next weeknd and I believe I have the perfect one!! They are moist and chocolatey and super yummy! Marc was my taste-tester and he didn’t mind one bit 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Mimi said,

    “Also, I tried 2 different chocolate cupcake recipes to find one that I really like and that works to use for a friend’s baby shower next weeknd and I believe I have the perfect one!! ”

    OHhhhhh i like the sound of that!!! hee hee 🙂 XOXO

Leave a Reply

