Let’s Talk Baby

July 2, 2008 at 1:13 pm (Baby, Opinion) ()

Since I didn’t start the blog until Alexis was 4 months old, I have a lot of catching up to do!!

Curently, she wakes up around 7 or 7:30am has a bottle, takes a nap, plays, another bottle 11:30, plays, nap, plays. bottle 3:30, play, short nap, play.  7pm – bath, pjs, bottle 7:30, book, bed 8pm.

Those are my days.  I’m very happy with her schedule, but it was not easy to get  there!! The  first 6 weeks are a blur of sleep-deprivation, new mother insecurity, and crazy hormones!!!!

After that I got more confident as she developed reflux and the crying started.  It wasn’t colic b/c it wasn’t constant.  It would come and go and she would wake up at night and spit up then cry.  We switched formulas several times and tried different medication.  Finally we settled on GoodStart Soy with added cereal and Prevacid.  By about 12 weeks, the tummy issues seemed much better, she was sleeping through the night from about 10pm – 5 or 6am, which was wonderful in her bassinet in our room.  At about 14 weeks, I decided it was time to move her to her own room.  The first night I started with the bedtime routine (bath, pjs, bottle, book, bed) I put her down and she stayed.  She woke up a lot that first night – sleep deprivation was back – ugh.  Second night was a bit better, she was up 3 or 4 times.  It stayed like that for about a week to 10 days.  Then it gradually decreased to 2 times a night then 1, now not at all!! I also went from rocking her  to sleep and putting her down asleep, to putting her down drowsy, now I can put her down awake, turn on the soother and the white noise machine (lifesaver!) and she falls asleep on her own – no crying necessary.  That was a big deal to me, I wanted to teach her to fall asleep on her own without her needing to cry it out, I really don’t believe in letting my baby cry herself to sleep.  It seems to have worked and now I can even put her down for naps awake.  She will fuss for naptime for about 2 minutes but that’s it, she’s out!!!

She has rolled over from belly to back once, she’s lazy and puts her head down during tummy time, she can pick herself up on her hands, she rolls from her back to her side, and she can sit unassisted for short periods of time before toppling over.  She’s great with a spoon and can eat cereal with a spoon.  We haven’t started baby foods yet.  Since she had reflux earlier, I want  to wait until she’s 6 months to start.  She is gaining weight well so I’m not concerned about that!

Ok, I think I have pretty much caught up on my daughter’s life!! Next will be my turn!

Leave a Reply

